History of Philippine theater groups

UP Dramatic Club (under Dept of English, Padre Faura campus) formed.

Barangay Theater Guild founded by Lamberto Avellana and Daisy Hontiveros-Avellana. Took over movie houses during WW2 and presented plays in Tagalog (English was banned by the Japanese). When the Americans returned, BTG turned to radio, and then to different school auditoriums in Manila. Last production in 1976.

UP Mobile Theatre supersedes UP Dramatic Club, stages performances until the late 1970s.

(Visayas) University of San Agustin Little Theater founded by Rector Rev. Fr. Eduardo Perez, OSA

Rolando Tinio translated "Laruang Kristal" ("Glass Menagerie") and "Pahimakas sa Isang Ahente" ("Death of a Salesman"). Signalling "the beginning of what can be considered as the contemporary period in Philippine era."

La Salle Dramatics Guild (De La Salle University) founded. Renamed Harlequin Theater Guild in 1987. (Source here.)

Philippine Educational Theater Association founded by Cecile Guidote Alvarez.

Repertory Philippines founded by Zeneida Amador.

UP Repertory Company founded by Behn Cervantes.
("re-established in 1973, as per Cervante's column dated 2004.)

Cultural Center of the Philippines inaugurated.

UP's DSCTA started offering in the mid 1970's a B.A. in Theatre Arts and an M.A. in Theatre Arts; and in the 1990's, a certificate program in theatre.
     UP's Department of Speech and Drama established in 1955, later becoming Dept. of Speech Communication and Theatre Arts (DSCTA)  in 1978.

(Mindanao) Sining Kambayoka, Mindanao State University-Marawi City, founded by Frank Rivera.

Dulaang Unibersidad ng Pilipinas founded by Tony Mabesa.

Teatro Pilipino founded by Rolando Tinio. Served as a resident theater company at the CCP until 1986. Closed in 1992 after the death of its lead actor Ella Luansing.

Teatro Tomasino (University of Santo Tomas) founded.

Bulwagang Gantimpala founded by Tony Espejo. In 1987, the group left the auspices of CCP and was renamed Gantimpala Theater Foundation.

(Mindanao) Integrated Performing Arts Guild, Mindanao State University-Iligan Institute of Technology, Iligan City, founded by Steven Fernandez.

Tanghalang Ateneo founded.

(Mindanao) Kabpapagariya Ensemble, Mindanao State University-General Santos City founded by Emy (surname?). "started as "lunchtime entertainers" in the university cafeteria ... since then, it has become the official performing arm of the university." (From this blog entry.)

People Power Revolution.

Tanghalang Pilipino founded by Nonon Padilla. New resident theater company of CCP, replacing Teatro Pilipino and Bulwagang Gantimpala.

Musical Theater Philippines (Musicat) founded by Celeste Legaspi and Girlie Rodis. Active until 2006.

Filipino actors cast in lead roles in Cameron Mackintosh's "Miss Saigon." The show has its world premiere in West End in 1989.

Triumphant People's Evangelistic Theater Society (Trumpets) founded by Audie Gemora.

Blue Repertory Theater (Ateneo de Manila University) founded by Dennis Temporal.

Commercial cellphone service becomes available.

Actor's Actors, Inc. founded by Bart Guingona.

New Voice Company founded by Monique Wilson. Last major production in 2007 ("Into the Woods").

Texting service and internet service becomes available.

Philippine Legitimate Stage Artists Inc. (Philstage) founded.

(Baguio) Tanghalang St. Louis University founded by Dan Riopay.

Atlantis Productions founded by Bobby Garcia. Renamed Atlantis Theatrical Entertainment Group in 2015.

Philippine Opera Company founded by Karla Gutierrez.

9 Works Theatrical founded by Robbie Guevara. Inaugural production "Songs for a New World."

Sipat Lawin Ensemble founded by JK Anicoche.

First Philstage Gawad Buhay awarding ceremony (covering productions staged in 2008).

Upstart Productions founded by Joel Trinidad.

Bit by Bit Productions founded by Darwin Mariano and Carlo Francia.

Nov. 17, 2012 - first issue of Philippine Daily Inquirer's Theater Section. Previously, theater-related articles were published under the Arts and Books Section.

Red Turnip Theater Company founded by Ana Abad Santos, Topper Fabregas, Jenny Jamora, Cris Villonco and Rem Zamora.

Twin Bill Theater founded by Francis and Joseph Matheu. Inaugural production done in 2016.

Sandbox Collective founded by Toff de Venecia. Inaugural production "Dani Girl."

Full House Theater Company established by Resorts World Manila. Though RWM had started staging musicals in 2011 ("Sound of Music").

Dalanghita Productions founded by

Egg Theater Company founded by George de Jesus III, production managers Alvin Trono and Kristine Balmes, actor/directors Paolo O'Hara and Mara Marasigan, and actors Renante Bustamante and Martha Comia.

- various online articles and company websites
- Professional theater organizations in the Philippines, Dennis Marasigan, 2010
- Dulaang Unibersidad ng Pilipinas: A Laboratory for Future Artists, Alexander C. Cortez, 2010

No comments :